RSS Feed

Baking your own bread

Posted on

Now for anyone who follows my Blogger, blog. They know I make my own bread, they know I use sourdough starter. I thought I’d share that all here for people to read about it and possibly see that it is easy to do.

Now here are two things that will be very useful to you the first is a link to get some sourdough starter (I use this one), and the other is a video on how to make bread in a no knead fashion.

http://carlsfriends.net/

This is a very, -VERY- easy method of making bread, anyone can make this I am not kidding! The recipe is:

1C starter
2C water (non-chlorinated is best)
3C flour
1t salt

Not much to it right? Now as you make it, you may have to adjust the amounts a slight bit. You put all the ingredients in the bowl starting with the starter (don’t forget to feed the starter after), then salt, flour, then last the water. Mix until all the flour is gone adding more flour as necessary making just a semi sticky (not hard) dough, you don’t want it runny either. Cover the bowl and put in a warm spot for 8-12 hours or overnight (overnight works best for me). Then you bake in a 500 degree oven, which I use 400 as my oven runs hot. Now to bake you need a covered baking dish and when you turn the oven on you put the pan inside it and let it heat while you “fold” your dough. Yes, fold the dough; this is in no way kneading. What you do is after your rise time “pour” your dough out onto a floured board, and fold in the four sides. That’s it, then you open your pan (which should be in your oven) and gently place the now folded dough in the pan; cover and bake for 20 minutes. Then take the lid off and bake another 20 minutes.

This is what the bread looks like right after you “pour” it onto your floured board.  Now this is at least twice what it looked like when I had mixed it the night before.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is after 2 of the folds

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All 4 folds

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now as you can see I use a black “granny ware” roaster for baking my bread.  Also I put it into the roaster on the seam, so i can get a more smooth top.  this is half way through the baking process.

 

 

 

 

 

 

…and of course here is the finished product!  Doesn’t it look lovely?  As you can see it is a very simple process and comes out beautiful.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have learned by doing this after years of not getting a standard loaf of bread to rise, that it might have just been too hard a process to make a bread from dry yeast.  Using the sourdough starter is much simpler and it rises every time, not hit and miss.  I have also recently started to make rolls with this method of bread making:

 

This is from my first attempt at making rolls, what I did was make the dough a slight bit dryer.  I then broke up the dough I mixed into smaller amounts and let them rise in smaller bowls.  then to bake I shaved off about 5 minutes per bake time, i also baked them all at the same time

 

 

 

 

 

I hope you try this out as it is very simple to make, and I am sure you will enjoy making your own bread.  The smell through the house is wonderful, and nothing is better than hot bread and butter; with the bread coming right out of the oven!

 

Be Well and Blessed Be…

About rivenfae

A homesteading mom with 2 teens,12 cats, 4 dogs, a flock of chickens. small goat flock and a piggie. Also a dream of a sustainable homestead out in the woods of Missouri.

Comments are closed.

My Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Life on a Colorado Farm

Life on a Colorado Farm (All Rights Reserved)

Turtle Rock Farm

Observations, insights and news from our farm and retreat center on the Oklahoma prairie

When Did This Become a Farm?

Homesteading, Homeschooling, and Homemaking in the PNW

Middlemay Farm

Nubian Goats, Katahdin Sheep, Chickens, Ducks, Dogs and Novelist Adrienne Morris live here (with humans).

Montana Outdoors

A weblog dedicated to the world outside the cities.

Modern Mountain Woman

Offgrid, we work with permaculture and alternitve energies with Ubuntu ideals to make a place worth living at and learning from.

Experiments In Aquaponics

Sustainable home food production / Twitter: @ARTaquaponics

Twigs In My Hair

~Funny and Impulsive, Prone to Become Scattered With Eclectic Tastes~

Floyd Family Homestead

Get back to basics: Sustainable Inspiration for Homesteaders

daydreamemporium

Dream With Me!

Urban Garden Guru

Urban Agriculture in the Heartland

freedomfarmtv

Where Freedom Grows

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

The Aran Artisan

Making a living by creating every aspect and ingredient of daily life

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

The Habanero of Texas

The day's information peppered with satire.

Free Man, Born of Fire

My personal blog

