RSS Feed

Garden update!

Posted on

I posted an update on my Blogger blog yesterday and thought I should as well too.

I now have my herbs planted, and they seem to be surviving the transplant so far.  I have discovered that I have Sage, Basil, Rue, chamomile, and maybe catmint.  This is what I get for not labeling the pots, but I will live.

My potatoes are starting to flower, and I was curious about whether or not to let them.  Someone mentioned on a website I frequent that you shouldn’t let them.  however I am sure on large farms where they grow potatoes the farmer does not stroll the rows and snipping flowers off potato plants.  So for now I will let them flower, and we will see.  This is my first time growing them and they seem very happy, and for the first time since I planted them I have watered them myself.  The bushel gourds that I planted near them are getting their secondary leaves, I do hope they do well; again first time growing them.

My pole beans are starting to vine, the standard ones more than the long beans.  The tigers eye bush beans are growing well past their secondary leaves already, so I am expecting flowers on those in a couple of weeks.  The rice beans I am trying out I only have 2 plants out of 18 seeds, which in my opinion is a horrible germination rate.

In my vining bed I do have the bitter melon growing now, it took forever for them to sprout.  The zucchini seem to be coming along well, as I expect from those plants.  I know I have at least my lemon cucumbers growing, and staring to put out their third set of true leaves, I tried growing them last year but they died on me.

My tomatoes are very happy plants just like my potatoes, though the ones I planted in the box have thicker stems  than the ones in the ground.  My peppers aren’t doing as well as I’d like, but this is the first time I have done them from seed myself and I planted them in pots a little on the late side.  If they don’t produce… well lesson learned.

I’m sure I have some melons coming up but as yet I do not know which types.  I am really hoping for some of the tigger melons will come up as I really want to try those.  They look very pretty too.

Oh… I noticed on my blueberry plant that it is getting some new growth off the main root!

 

Be Well and Blessed Be…

About rivenfae

A homesteading mom with 2 teens,12 cats, 4 dogs, a flock of chickens. small goat flock and a piggie. Also a dream of a sustainable homestead out in the woods of Missouri.

Comments are closed.

My Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Life on a Colorado Farm

Life on a Colorado Farm (All Rights Reserved)

Turtle Rock Farm

Observations, insights and news from our farm and retreat center on the Oklahoma prairie

When Did This Become a Farm?

Homesteading, Homeschooling, and Homemaking in the PNW

Middlemay Farm

Katahdin Sheep, Chickens, Ducks, Dogs and Novelist Adrienne Morris live here (with humans).

Montana Outdoors

A weblog dedicated to the world outside the cities.

Modern Mountain Woman

Offgrid, we work with permaculture and alternitve energies with Ubuntu ideals to make a place worth living at and learning from.

Experiments In Aquaponics

Sustainable home food production / Twitter: @ARTaquaponics

Twigs In My Hair

~Funny and Impulsive, Prone to Become Scattered With Eclectic Tastes~

Floyd Family Homestead

Get back to basics: Sustainable Inspiration for Homesteaders

daydreamemporium

Dream With Me!

Urban Garden Guru

Urban Agriculture in the Heartland

freedomfarmtv

Where Freedom Grows

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

The Aran Artisan

Making a living by creating every aspect and ingredient of daily life

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

The Habanero of Texas

Law Enforcement News, Headlines and Information.

Free Man, Born of Fire

My personal blog

