RSS Feed

The bounty of Heirloom plants

Posted on

First let me show you some flower pictures:

Yes as you can see a squash flower, I was pleasantly surprised to see it open this morning after my mad dash to feed the chickens before the sky opened up, to pour on us (no root cellar digging today…)

 

 

 

 

It’s not the only one though…

 

Both of these are on the same plant, as in these two are on one plant together.  I believe they are summer squash, but I am not wholly sure on which type.  My son’s pumkins are going to flower soon as well and they look like they will have many flowers and these plants are not very big as yet!

 

I know what some people think about growing a lot of summer squashes and how many we will probably have to eat.  You know what though…?  the point is to learn, for me any way.  This way I can plan ahead for the next year, and maybe have more food than the previous year.   Also it teaches me the watering requirements for these plants, last year my melons died as I could not water them as much as I’d like.  Also my “organic” zucchini’s didn’t produce the abundance that I’ve heard from those vegetables, which I am also thinking had to do with watering requirements.  If I have an overly large amount of summer squashes this year, good; we’ll eat them for lunch and dinner.  Breakfast if I have too, but we will eat them; also any extra will be fed to my chickens.  I have already discovered that they like them so, there is a good way to supplement their feed.

Now for my big surprise photo’s, my tomato flower pictures:

This set of tomato flowers are from the biggest tomato plant in my back garden.  these where planted into the ground where we had zucchini last year.  the stems on this one I believe I have mentioned before are massive, and now it is in flower.

Once they start really appearing I’ll be able to figure out which tomato this one is.  However, somewhere in all these tomatoes I have was some from the “mystery” seeds Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds gave me.  If that one comes out well, well they will be a repeat next year!

 

 

 

Here is another:

I’m not sure if you can see the flower(s) on this one.  It’s from one of the ones in my box of tomatoes, now please note these are being grown only in:

peat moss

chicken manure

a short wheelbarrow full of clay dirt

and some straw

Nothing else… and I just recently trellised them as they were getting so big the next one I am showing was falling over.

 

this is that “vining” tomato, and as you can see it also has flowers on it as well.  I swear all these plants are growing at an amazing speed and are bigger than i have seen on tomato plants.

 

 

 

 

 

Now the surprise part, all these next ones are from the same plant!

 

All four of these pictures are off of the same tomato plant!  Also this plant is also from my box of tomatoes.  I counted how many flowers where on this first head in this first picture and there were 10!

 

Can you believe that?  10 flowers on one flower head!  I for one have aside from cherry and pear varieties, have never seen 10 tomatoes on any tomato plant!  I believe that this might be the Purple Smudge ones as the stems have some purple in spots.

 

Which brings me back to one common curious question…

If GMO crops are so wonderful and will feed hundreds of millions of people, how is it i have one tomato plant that is an heirloom that has 10 flowers on one flower head?  That I haven’t even seen on a cherry tomato… and to me that is amazing!

Yep they had at one time created a GM tomato, which it seems most people did not like the taste of.  So, supposedly it is no longer grown at all.  Good I don’t care about a 45 day shelf life for my tomatoes.  I want one that tastes good, has good color, and produces well for my soil type.

 

I really could care less if the tomatoes I bought were “perfect”.  I hate that word “perfect”, almost as much as I hate the word “normal”.  Most people think that a “perfect” tomato is “perfectly round” (as tomatoes go anyway), have that red color we all think of when we think of tomato.  Also most people think the “perfect” tomato is hard…

 

Well know what?

To me the “perfect” tomato is the one(s) I am waiting for outside to finish growing!  I have put my own effort into growing these soon to be beauties.  I don’t care if they are’t the “perfect” shade of red, or even if they are a bit “oblong” in shape.

The BEST tomato is the kind you like, and unfortunately to most Americans that is the standard you buy in the store.  Or even one from a plant you bought a Wal-Mart, that  if you put next to my beauties probably would look like it was sickly.

 

Was I always a fighter for the cause of Heirloom plants?  No, I use to think just like many people out there that what I bought at Wal-mart/grocery store/ hardware store was the best plants I could buy!  they even say they are on the packages!

 

Here is where you need to do a bit of “poking” around and reading and being a detective when it comes to what you decide to eat.  Just because it says it’s good doesn’t mean it is.

Peoples belief in a divine entity of some kind generally tells us we were created/grew with a concept of free will.  Well, I’d like to see more people exercise this particular desire more often.  Instead of seeing other people make those choices for us!

Some of those CSA’s out there sometimes will have vegetables you’ve never experienced before, why?  To show people that there is more in life out there besides the “standard” that we all grew up with.

Me?  I grew up in a family that if we had chicken for dinner we –MUST– have corn with it.  Why?  I have no clue other than my mom told me that her mother did that.  Well that’s nice, now when we have chicken not only do I not stick with just pieces baked/grilled (mom never fried), or a whole chicken done the same way.  I might cut the meat off those bones and make a veggie stir fry with *gasp* vegetables that aren’t corn.

How many choices do you make in your daily life, do you make due to the way that you were taught?  Most likely a lot, which inherently is not a bad thing.  It shows you can be taught.  However, it also shows that unless you are willing to change your way of thinking you are “stuck” in that mind set.  What you won’t want to happen to you down the line somewhere to be given a schock that makes you change your ways to survive.

Make the choices to make yourself healthy before it is necessary to change or die.  Don’t worry about sugar intake after you are diagnosed with Type II Diabetes, worry about it now!  Worry about how much crud you kids put into themselves!  Check out what your school feeds your kids, and if it doesn’t make sense change it!

Did you know that sometimes kids won’t eat a school lunch because it is unappetizing?  Not eating at all is never a good idea, but also some of those kids only get that meal at school, so shouldn’t it be a good one?

Do I think that Heirloom crops could feed the world?  Maybe, it depends on what we as a people want in this world; and what we want for our kids.  Many places around the world that is considered third world are preferring the heirloom crops over the GM ones.  Shouldn’t  that say something about what the people in general think of them?    A lot of these places have also tried the GM crops and learned that they did not produce well in their lands.  So how is that going to “feed the world”?

Something people should be curious about as well, I have watched the corn fields here these last 2 springs and well… To my eye and looking at more than one field planted with the “standard” (GMO) corn the fields this year have less germinated than last year.  Also it does not look like they will hit that “old tyme” saying of “knee high by the 4th of July” .

Is there going to be a problem with the corn this year like we had with the hay earlier this year?     I am not sure, but if you see meat prices start dropping then maybe people should find out why.  As any student of economics will tell you when a market gets flooded with an abundance of a certain item that price gets lowered to compete.     So watch for falling meat prices and if they do.. well it might be the corn.

Go out and plant, you still can!  It’s only June, end of but June none the less.  Beans can still be planted, squashes, cucumbers, and melons can too!  Tomatoes should still have time to produce for you.  As should peppers.  Me?  I’m goign to plant carrots in my box when they tomatoes are done with it, they will be my fall/winter crop along with the mini Pak Choy I never planted this spring.

Go out and try something new, and if you don’t know how to prepare it?  Look it up!  The internet is a good -TOOL- but like any tool it needs to be used in the proper way.

I’m sure you will discover something you didn’t know you would like!

 

Happy eating!

 

Be Well and Blessed Be…

About rivenfae

A homesteading mom with 2 teens,12 cats, 4 dogs, a flock of chickens. small goat flock and a piggie. Also a dream of a sustainable homestead out in the woods of Missouri.

Comments are closed.

My Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Life on a Colorado Farm

Life on a Colorado Farm (All Rights Reserved)

Turtle Rock Farm

Observations, insights and news from our farm and retreat center on the Oklahoma prairie

When Did This Become a Farm?

Homesteading, Homeschooling, and Homemaking in the PNW

Middlemay Farm

Nubian Goats, Katahdin Sheep, Chickens, Ducks, Dogs and Novelist Adrienne Morris live here (with humans).

Montana Outdoors

A weblog dedicated to the world outside the cities.

Modern Mountain Woman

Offgrid, we work with permaculture and alternitve energies with Ubuntu ideals to make a place worth living at and learning from.

Experiments In Aquaponics

Sustainable home food production / Twitter: @ARTaquaponics

Twigs In My Hair

~Funny and Impulsive, Prone to Become Scattered With Eclectic Tastes~

Floyd Family Homestead

Get back to basics: Sustainable Inspiration for Homesteaders

daydreamemporium

Dream With Me!

Urban Garden Guru

Urban Agriculture in the Heartland

freedomfarmtv

Where Freedom Grows

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

The Aran Artisan

Making a living by creating every aspect and ingredient of daily life

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

The Habanero of Texas

The day's information peppered with satire.

Free Man, Born of Fire

My personal blog

