RSS Feed

Garden Ponderings

Posted on

Well here we are in the end of June, I have flowers on tomatoes(they also have some mini green ones), flowers on squash, flowers on beans, and flowers on one melon.  I should have flowers on my lemon cucumbers soon, also the Amish Butter Pumpkins I am growing will have flowers soon as well.  The pumpkins are also starting to vine.

Some of my potatoes are dieing back, but only the non German butterball ones.   Those are still very green and are now falling over.  My herb garden is taking off, the basil I planted is starting to get secondary stems.  The Sage is loving it and so is the Chamomile.  My Rue is growing slowly, but it is growing.  I still have to figure out the rest of them.  The Dill is huge and I am guessing I will need to harvest it soon as it has seed heads on it.

My stevia plants are growing so bit I’m considering putting them into the ground, and seeing how well they do.  My berry plants seem to be taking well to their new homes.  I have even gotten to try a couple red raspberries.  Though I am considering harvesting a few leaves for tea from them.  My grapes have done very well this year seeing as how last year when I planted them they grew a bit then died.  The fig we bought is doing well, but I wonder if we will lose the fruit it already has on it due to the need for it to grow new roots?  In the same vicinity my Elderberry “plants” (there is debate over whether they are tree or bush) are loving it here.  I’d say the one is about 4 foot tall now.

It’s been almost a week since we dug in the root cellar due to all the rain we’ve been getting overnight, just too much water in the bottom to dig any.  Then it’s too hot in the afternoon to dig after it drys up.  I am looking forward to a few dry days so we can get back to work on it.

We are hoping to get the materials this weekend to make the nest boxes for the chickens, as the older bunch should be closer to the egg laying age.  I had even gotten an idea for what to use for it.  I saw somewhere online someone using 5 gallon buckets for nest boxes, and thought “wow that is a good idea”.  The buckets do not cost much and with that in mind we will probably use less money making them with buckets than with just wood.  I imagine they will be easier to clean as well.  We are going to butcher out Tom turkey for Thanksgiving (ergo the name Thanksgiving) and see if the female will lay some eggs, as I hear Turkey eggs can be good.  We will see…

Speaking of the chickens… their yard considering all this rain is a mud pit.  You’d think as I have covered it more than once with straw that it would be fine.  It’s not, maybe after a year or two of straw layering it will.

In about a week I am going to re-plant in the spots where cucumbers did not come up, and also replant some Tigger melons; because dang it I want to try them!  I have had another melon sprout out in my garden, but not the Tigger melons.  My long beans are starting to climb, so I’d say they are about 2 weeks behind in growth compared to the standard pole beans.

On a side note…

I am thinking of finishing up one of my novels and making an ebook out of it.  I have even found a company that will do it totally free other than a percentage of your profits from the sales.  I have asked the “writer beware” Blog about the company and will let everyone know if/when I get a book out!

About rivenfae

A homesteading mom with 2 teens,12 cats, 4 dogs, a flock of chickens. small goat flock and a piggie. Also a dream of a sustainable homestead out in the woods of Missouri.

Comments are closed.

My Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Life on a Colorado Farm

Life on a Colorado Farm (All Rights Reserved)

Turtle Rock Farm

Observations, insights and news from our farm and retreat center on the Oklahoma prairie

When Did This Become a Farm?

Homesteading, Homeschooling, and Homemaking in the PNW

Middlemay Farm

Katahdin Sheep, Chickens, Ducks, Dogs and Novelist Adrienne Morris live here (with humans).

Montana Outdoors

A weblog dedicated to the world outside the cities.

Modern Mountain Woman

Offgrid, we work with permaculture and alternitve energies with Ubuntu ideals to make a place worth living at and learning from.

Experiments In Aquaponics

Sustainable home food production / Twitter: @ARTaquaponics

Twigs In My Hair

~Funny and Impulsive, Prone to Become Scattered With Eclectic Tastes~

Floyd Family Homestead

Get back to basics: Sustainable Inspiration for Homesteaders

daydreamemporium

Dream With Me!

Urban Garden Guru

Urban Agriculture in the Heartland

freedomfarmtv

Where Freedom Grows

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

The Aran Artisan

Making a living by creating every aspect and ingredient of daily life

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

The Habanero of Texas

Law Enforcement News, Headlines and Information.

Free Man, Born of Fire

My personal blog

