RSS Feed

Garden Update 7-20-2011

Posted on

I thought I’d update the “goings on” here since I really haven’t in a while.  My pole beans seem to not be doing much while my long beans are, which I found out from a friend (thanks Dream!) that long beans do better in the heat.  I spent the last week experimenting with my watering, and going every other day seems to make no difference as of right now; so I’m going to stick with once a day.

I’m waiting on my tomatoes to ripen as I have tons of little green ones every where.  One of the plants in back is starting to lean a bit, but so far it’s still standing.  I am still finding an occasional bad tomato and I am pulling them off as soon as I find them.  My grapes are dieing again, they did this last year.  Grew a little bit then die.  I am considering buying new plants next year and starting over on them.

I am starting to find the not yet opened female flowers on my squash plants (about time ya now).  I am hoping they produce well, however it only seems to be the zucchini.  I also think my cucumbers are starting to produce some fruits on them as well.

Oh I made a video of part of my garden as I just discovered my photo camera can take short videos:

I hope to get the other half soon as I really want to show off my Elderberry plants, they are over 4ft tall and we planted them this year!

We went out this morning and put int he nests in the chicken coop finally.  Four buckets for the hens to use and it covers the south half of the back of the coop.  The north half has some roosts on it, I need to get out there with my camera one morning; maybe I’ll remeber tomorrow.

 

Well that is it for now folks,

Be Well, Be Safe and Blessed Be…

About rivenfae

A homesteading mom with 2 teens,12 cats, 4 dogs, a flock of chickens. small goat flock and a piggie. Also a dream of a sustainable homestead out in the woods of Missouri.

Comments are closed.

My Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Life on a Colorado Farm

Life on a Colorado Farm (All Rights Reserved)

Turtle Rock Farm

Observations, insights and news from our farm and retreat center on the Oklahoma prairie

When Did This Become a Farm?

Homesteading, Homeschooling, and Homemaking in the PNW

Middlemay Farm

Katahdin Sheep, Chickens, Ducks, Dogs and Novelist Adrienne Morris live here (with humans).

Montana Outdoors

A weblog dedicated to the world outside the cities.

Modern Mountain Woman

Offgrid, we work with permaculture and alternitve energies with Ubuntu ideals to make a place worth living at and learning from.

Experiments In Aquaponics

Sustainable home food production / Twitter: @ARTaquaponics

Twigs In My Hair

~Funny and Impulsive, Prone to Become Scattered With Eclectic Tastes~

Floyd Family Homestead

Get back to basics: Sustainable Inspiration for Homesteaders

daydreamemporium

Dream With Me!

Urban Garden Guru

Urban Agriculture in the Heartland

freedomfarmtv

Where Freedom Grows

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

The Aran Artisan

Making a living by creating every aspect and ingredient of daily life

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

The Habanero of Texas

Law Enforcement News, Headlines and Information.

Free Man, Born of Fire

My personal blog

