RSS Feed

This is the Update!

Posted on

 Hello everyone, if you read my Blogger blog you know I’ve been kinda online for almost a week thanks to our new smart phone. For now we can tether it to our computer to get a very limited amount of internet 5G’s worth period. So I will do my best to update both blogs as I can, I am not sure about posting any pics right now for 2 reasons.

 

First is that well… I need new batteries for the camera, the weather radio seemed much higher on the battery list at the time we got batteries last. Secondly I don’t know how much “data” I will use posting them.

 

Now for the updates. We have a complete bathroom as you may have seen out nice bathtub, we also now have a full sized water heater. Our kitchen is complete, we finally got the full sized sink in! We managed to get a full sized stove for free at a local free store here, funniest part about that is a year or so ago we bought a very pretty older deluxe model stove from the same company at a garage sale for $5 (the oven didn’t work). We saw it was the same brand and started laughing.

 

I have started my plantings, and I do hope it was not too early; however after watching my Elderberry trees sprout leaves a month ago I felt it was time to try some things. I have some cabbage plants in the ground, broccoli plants in the ground, cabbage seed, edible chrysanthemum seed, dwarf pak choy seed, red leaf lettuce seed, kale seed, pea seeds, onion sets, and seed potatoes in. The cabbage plants changed color for a couple of days but seem Ok now. We are really looking forward to some fresh greens out of the garden… soon!

 

Our hens are laying about a dozen eggs a day and I am trying to find ways to use them up, any suggestions? We are still currently without a car, however that should change before the end of the month (fingers crossed). We saw a older Chevy suburban for $1000 and the gent who owns it currently drives it daily. So we know it works and runs, and can be inspected. Now we just have to wait for “Uncle Sam” to pass our tax money along and we can go get it. It’s -only- down side is it’s bright red in color.

 

My two girls are fostering a pair of hunting labs and doing the starter training on them, and getting paid to do it. They are paid $20 a week for this, they will be saving the money for this summer when they go to see their grandmother. They are learning a valuable lesson about animal care. Daughter right before school, “…but MOM I don’t want to have to feed them right now. Why do I have to?” I think the wish they both have for all the “cute” farm animals might disappear thanks to this grins

 

Well that’s it for now everyone.

 

Be Well, Be Safe, and Blessed Be…

About rivenfae

A homesteading mom with 2 teens,12 cats, 4 dogs, a flock of chickens. small goat flock and a piggie. Also a dream of a sustainable homestead out in the woods of Missouri.

Comments are closed.

My Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Life on a Colorado Farm

Life on a Colorado Farm (All Rights Reserved)

Turtle Rock Farm

Observations, insights and news from our farm and retreat center on the Oklahoma prairie

When Did This Become a Farm?

Homesteading, Homeschooling, and Homemaking in the PNW

Middlemay Farm

Katahdin Sheep, Chickens, Ducks, Dogs and Novelist Adrienne Morris live here (with humans).

Montana Outdoors

A weblog dedicated to the world outside the cities.

Modern Mountain Woman

Offgrid, we work with permaculture and alternitve energies with Ubuntu ideals to make a place worth living at and learning from.

Experiments In Aquaponics

Sustainable home food production / Twitter: @ARTaquaponics

Twigs In My Hair

~Funny and Impulsive, Prone to Become Scattered With Eclectic Tastes~

Floyd Family Homestead

Get back to basics: Sustainable Inspiration for Homesteaders

daydreamemporium

Dream With Me!

Urban Garden Guru

Urban Agriculture in the Heartland

freedomfarmtv

Where Freedom Grows

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

The Aran Artisan

Making a living by creating every aspect and ingredient of daily life

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

The Habanero of Texas

Law Enforcement News, Headlines and Information.

Free Man, Born of Fire

My personal blog

