RSS Feed

Update!

Posted on

I know it’s been a while since I have posted on here and I am trying today to “catch up” on all my internet “work”. I seem to be keeping my Blogger blog better updated than this one and I am planning on fixing that now. Last I wrote here I had plants coming that I ordered for our home. They have long since arrived.

I will say I LOVE RainTree for buying plants now. The plants when they arrived were all very healthy and they transplanted very well, not a single one of the plants.. nor the Rhubarb crowns have had any troubles from being transplanted. I never did manage to get to Baker Creek to buy any extra seeds, but that is OK right now.

Image

Now it is OK, because we are planning on going to the big festival that they hold at the beginning of May. Maybe I’ll have some spare change to buy a couple plants or more seeds. We are going to be able to do this as we have now acquired a new vehicle, new for us anyway. It’s a 1989 GMC conversion van that’s a deep red color that almost looks brown. We paid $1200 for the van itself and about $300 getting it “legal” $207 of that went to 6 months of insurance on it. The rest went to a minor repair an inspection, then registering it.

Image

I now have lettuce coming out of my garden and I have started doing the actual weeding of my garden beds. Most of the “weeds” are Lambs Quarters and as long as I work on it in the morning they will go toward the refrigerator for a nice wilted salad. If I remove them during the afternoon they are going to the chickens. I’ve already given them two gallons worth of the “weeds” just today.

As for the other “plants” we received, most of the other ones I ordered went to “screen” us from the road. I have… 4 different types of plants for this. I got I think 2 honeysuckle, 6 poplars, 5 Russian olive (not edible), and 26 hybrid willows. So far the olive and the poplar have been “leafing out” the best. This is considering they have only been in the ground for about two weeks.

I had gotten 3 honeysuckle along with 2 old fashioned lilacs, one honey suckle and the lilacs went into my garden for bee attractant. I did discover that I do like the berries on the wintergreen that I ordered from RainTree. When they arrived the four little plants still had berries on them and I tried one. They are very mildly minty.

Image

I have the possibility of buying at least one male goat that I will be keeping for meat production. I just have to remind the children that Mr. Goat will be coming to dinner eventually. One of my friends said that we should name it something to remind the kids what the intended end of the goat is.

So far my tomatoes are being very slow on growing in their little pots.. I do hope when we move them to the big pots we are going to grow them in that they take off big time. Especially since the ones I grew last year grew beautifully.. and cross pollinated… Right now that box I used for the tomatoes last year has cabbages in it. They are huge!

Image

 

That’s about it… I am going to try to include pictures in this I hope they come through if not.. oh well..

Be Well Be Safe, and Blessed Be…

About rivenfae

A homesteading mom with 2 teens,12 cats, 4 dogs, a flock of chickens. small goat flock and a piggie. Also a dream of a sustainable homestead out in the woods of Missouri.

Comments are closed.

My Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Life on a Colorado Farm

Life on a Colorado Farm (All Rights Reserved)

Turtle Rock Farm

Observations, insights and news from our farm and retreat center on the Oklahoma prairie

When Did This Become a Farm?

Homesteading, Homeschooling, and Homemaking in the PNW

Middlemay Farm

Nubian Goats, Katahdin Sheep, Chickens, Ducks, Dogs and Novelist Adrienne Morris live here (with humans).

Montana Outdoors

A weblog dedicated to the world outside the cities.

Modern Mountain Woman

Offgrid, we work with permaculture and alternitve energies with Ubuntu ideals to make a place worth living at and learning from.

Experiments In Aquaponics

Sustainable home food production / Twitter: @ARTaquaponics

Twigs In My Hair

~Funny and Impulsive, Prone to Become Scattered With Eclectic Tastes~

Floyd Family Homestead

Get back to basics: Sustainable Inspiration for Homesteaders

daydreamemporium

Dream With Me!

Urban Garden Guru

Urban Agriculture in the Heartland

freedomfarmtv

Where Freedom Grows

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

The Aran Artisan

Making a living by creating every aspect and ingredient of daily life

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

The Habanero of Texas

The day's information peppered with satire.

Free Man, Born of Fire

My personal blog

