RSS Feed

Update Again (Sorry)

Posted on

 Sorry that I’ve been a bit lax here.. I seem to be giving Blogger all my time. I have a few extra minutes of sit down time right now so I figured I’d try to give somewhat of an update to my wordpress readers. Sorry again if I cover something I have already covered here.

 

My red cabbages in the box our tomatoes were in last year are getting huge, I am just hoping they will be ready to pull when I need to plant my cucumbers in about a month. However I do have a few cucumbers volunteer in their place from last year.

 

Speaking of volunteers I have about 4 volunteer squash plants of unknown type. They are growing where I just planted my bush beans on Sunday. I am not moving them, but planting around them. I am hoping for at least one pumpkin and one winter squash out of them, plant wise. I hope I get more than one squash from each plant.

 

My wintergreen that I planted a month (?) ago all have new growth on them, I hope they take over the ground where I planted them. I have them in the same area as my Elderberry trees(?) are and I am hoping the wintergreen will cover the ground there keeping it very moist for the Elder.

 

I had been worried that my potatoes were all eaten by the chickens when they got loose, well I discovered on Sunday when I went to go put out some sprouted potatoes that the potatoes are growing. So the chickens did not get them all. Which is wonderful, but still creates a slight problem. I was trying to find out based on how many seed potatoes we put in how many actual potatoes we get. I don’t know how many got eaten, and I need to know how much we produce on our soil and method of growing them to figure out how many we really need to grow to sustain ourselves based on home usage. .. I hope that made sense…

 

I have been harvesting lettuce from our garden, and so far we have gotten more than we did last year. I am hoping to get at least the same amount next spring, I just don’t understand why the seeds sprouted in “clumps” instead of the “row” I planted. Anyone got any ideas?

 

Our pea plants have huge leaves this year, I am not sure as to why. Considering the hot/cold we have been having so far this spring I wonder if that is partly to blame. We also seem to have gotten less rain than last year. I am hoping it flowers soon, and that we get some peas out of them before I need to plant this years summer squash there.

 

We seem to be getting our onions to grow this year, as we have tried these last two years to grow some and they didn’t do anything. This year I planted them between my two Elderberries, but I didn’t put them into the soil. What I did was put down a layer of composted manure I bought, perlite, and chicken manure from our chicken house. Then I just worked the sets in, also the few that I started as well were set into the ground then.. The onions seem to like this much better.

 

Our chocolate Lab, Paris; gave us a surprise on the 20th. Well, I had noticed about two days before that her nipples were getting large.. and on the 20th she had 6 pups. Now this dog according to the vet we had in New York before we moved here was spayed. ..somehow… I don’t think she is. The pups are 1 black Lab (male) and 5 chocolate Labs (all female). I am hoping I can find them homes, then she is getting spayed. I have a home for the little guy.

 

I have a lead on buying at least one meat goat, I might know of a way to get more; but I need to check on it. One of my girls told me this morning one of their friends is selling rabbits, so I might still get to have my meat rabbits this year. I do hope so as they really are the best for feed to meat ratio. I also have a place I want to stop at and ask if they are selling any of their rabbits.

 

I just set up this morning an orange rosemary vinegar, that I am hoping will be ready in two weeks. It’s sitting in a dark part of my pantry right now while it “blends”, I am hoping to use it to make some nice salad dressings. I will be checking it in two weeks to see if it is the strength I want, if not it’ll go back in for a week at a time till it is.

 

So I think that just about covers my updates for now… and I am going to try to make sure I post here as well as on Blogger!

 

Be Well, Be Safe, and Blessed Be…

 

 

About rivenfae

A homesteading mom with 2 teens,12 cats, 4 dogs, a flock of chickens. small goat flock and a piggie. Also a dream of a sustainable homestead out in the woods of Missouri.

Comments are closed.

My Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Life on a Colorado Farm

Life on a Colorado Farm (All Rights Reserved)

Turtle Rock Farm

Observations, insights and news from our farm and retreat center on the Oklahoma prairie

When Did This Become a Farm?

Homesteading, Homeschooling, and Homemaking in the PNW

Middlemay Farm

Katahdin Sheep, Chickens, Ducks, Dogs and Novelist Adrienne Morris live here (with humans).

Montana Outdoors

A weblog dedicated to the world outside the cities.

Modern Mountain Woman

Offgrid, we work with permaculture and alternitve energies with Ubuntu ideals to make a place worth living at and learning from.

Experiments In Aquaponics

Sustainable home food production / Twitter: @ARTaquaponics

Twigs In My Hair

~Funny and Impulsive, Prone to Become Scattered With Eclectic Tastes~

Floyd Family Homestead

Get back to basics: Sustainable Inspiration for Homesteaders

daydreamemporium

Dream With Me!

Urban Garden Guru

Urban Agriculture in the Heartland

freedomfarmtv

Where Freedom Grows

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

The Aran Artisan

Making a living by creating every aspect and ingredient of daily life

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

The Habanero of Texas

Law Enforcement News, Headlines and Information.

Free Man, Born of Fire

My personal blog

