RSS Feed

Planting too early?

Posted on

Well this morning after cleaning up some and getting half my laundry out on the line, I noticed that my plants not in the ground were looking a bit sad.  Sad as in drooping badly, they weren’t dry, or missing sun either.  OK, well one was droopy .. three others seemed to be wilting but not drooping.

So we rushed to finish off the tomato tubs and get everybody in the ground.  Interestingly even though I only had 2 pots of basil they wound up having 7 plants in those two pots.  I am hoping they do well considering I did split them.  The mammoth Jalapeno’s are in with some of my onions and my one egg plant is with my lettuce as I’ve yet to have them grow for me and I want to keep a good eye on it.  My sweet peppers are in the box we got 2 years ago.  Which I think I said before we are retiring the box at the end of this year and we’ll move the soil to a good spot.

I still have some seeds to plant.  Three of them are three types of non-edible gourds that I am hoping to make into useful things.  My cucumbers, sunflowers, and a straight necked summer squash.  I also have to get my tiger’s eye beans in the ground once I figure out where I’m putting them.

We’ve been having net issues for almost 2 weeks and today it just got fixed, about an hour ago.  The service guy thinks it may have just been nudged loose during a high wind and only needed a quick adjustment.  We have a meeting at the kids’ school in a short while then we get to stick around as the girls have a concert tonight and we don’t want to waste gas.

Thought of something interesting while hanging the laundry today .. due to the fact that a young buck has decided he likes to eat across the street.  I’ve heard vegetarians say that you shouldn’t eat meat because the animals are beautiful.. or cute.   OK, flowers and some plants are very beautiful.. yet you eat them…  Interesting thought is it not?

 

Be Well, Be Safe, and Blessed Be…

About rivenfae

A homesteading mom with 2 teens,12 cats, 4 dogs, a flock of chickens. small goat flock and a piggie. Also a dream of a sustainable homestead out in the woods of Missouri.

3 responses

  1. I wish I could eat the deer that live around here. :< "pretty" is one thing. I live in a suburb and during the breeding season the deer are outright dangerous. They don't care about people, or dogs or cars or anything at all. They will charge you if you turn the corner on them. But we're not allowed to hunt them here. Because the hunters might cause property damage or hurt someon. As if the deer don't!

    • I know how that is.. and unfortunately the way they control the populations in urban areas is not good. They either poison them (and they run around for who knows how long and keel over anyplace) or they have “deer culls” one of which I heard about a animal rights group was protesting saying the animals have the right to exist in what ever numbers they wish… and they’d have their kids there hand feeding them. Once a young child was mauled this way when they ran out of the “food”. they should bring in natural predators if they do not want hunting as it would be healthier for the animals to lose the weak ones anyway.

      • Some urban areas have urban hunting permits that allows high-accuracy hunters to shoot deer in city limits with various types of high-powered bows. Not in my area though! Every day I see 3-4 deer wandering around my house, and it’s bad. I was charged this fall by a lone DOE while I was walking a 60lb dog. They’re dangerous but we’re not allowed to do anything about it.
        Honestly, I don’t think they control the population at ALL around here! And we don’t even have coyotes to take them down (thank goodness, honestly, coyotees are scary too), let alone wolves. Just some really BIG foxes.

My Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Life on a Colorado Farm

Life on a Colorado Farm (All Rights Reserved)

Turtle Rock Farm

Observations, insights and news from our farm and retreat center on the Oklahoma prairie

When Did This Become a Farm?

Homesteading, Homeschooling, and Homemaking in the PNW

Middlemay Farm

Katahdin Sheep, Chickens, Ducks, Dogs and Novelist Adrienne Morris live here (with humans).

Montana Outdoors

A weblog dedicated to the world outside the cities.

Modern Mountain Woman

Offgrid, we work with permaculture and alternitve energies with Ubuntu ideals to make a place worth living at and learning from.

Experiments In Aquaponics

Sustainable home food production / Twitter: @ARTaquaponics

Twigs In My Hair

~Funny and Impulsive, Prone to Become Scattered With Eclectic Tastes~

Floyd Family Homestead

Get back to basics: Sustainable Inspiration for Homesteaders

daydreamemporium

Dream With Me!

Urban Garden Guru

Urban Agriculture in the Heartland

freedomfarmtv

Where Freedom Grows

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

The Aran Artisan

Making a living by creating every aspect and ingredient of daily life

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

The Habanero of Texas

Law Enforcement News, Headlines and Information.

Free Man, Born of Fire

My personal blog

